According to their website, the Library of Congress is the world’s largest library and “provides Congress, the federal government and the American people with a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge…”

Even though the Library of Congress was established in 1800, only thirteen people over the course of 216 years have held the title “Librarian of Congress.” James H. Billington, the most recent Librarian, retired in September, 2015. On February 24, 2016, President Obama nominated Dr. Carla D. Hayden to replace Billington.

Dr. Hayden is currently the CEO of Baltimore’s Enoch Pratt Free Library, and is a former American Library Association president. If Congress confirms the nomination, Dr. Hayden will take over duties from David S. Mao, who has been serving as the Acting Librarian of Congress since Oct. 1, 2015.

To learn more be sure to look at the website's “Fascinating Facts” and “History of the Library” links. For bios of each librarian, see Librarians of Congress (1807-2015)